You gotta love Arizona


A bill sponsored by the state House Majority Leader could see an offset for Arizonians who obtain a concealed carry permit.

The measure would offer a tax credit of up to $80 towards the cost of a permit and training in the state. The Arizona Department of Public Safety currently charges $60 for new permits and $43 for renewals while training costs vary.

The legislation’s sponsor feels it will help boost public safety overall.

“Law enforcement have told us time and again that the first line of defense are those that carry CCW permits,” Rep. Steve Montenegro, R-Avondale,said. “In essence, what it does is it’s bringing a level of awareness that we want to make sure that we can say maybe the next generation of those that want to have or possess firearms, they understand that we as a state value making sure that people are educated in how to use weapons or how to carry weapons.”

Montenegro’s bill, HB 2494, would allow those who successfully pursue and obtain a permit to seek the credit of up to $80 against their state income tax. Those who fail to qualify or are denied a permit would be ineligible. The credit could rollover for as many as five years should the taxpayer owe less than the offset amount in taxes.

One thought on “You gotta love Arizona”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s